Skip to Main Content

Trip Planner

Service Status

MTA Rolls Out Bike Cars on All Weekend Trains

MARC Penn Line Trains Starting Oct. 31
Thursday, October 29, 2015


Addition of 3rd Bike Car Part of Governor Larry Hogan’s $135 Million Transit Improvement Plan

BALTIMORE, MD (OCTOBER 29, 2015) –As part of Governor Larry Hogan’s transit improvement plan to connect Baltimore, MARC Train riders and bike enthusiasts will enjoy the added benefit of a bike car on every MARC Penn Line weekend train between Baltimore and Washington, D.C., beginning Saturday, October 31. As a result, all 30 MARC weekend train trips on the Penn Line now will be equipped with bicycle access. 

“Our multi-phase plan to connect Baltimore with a unified transit system takes into consideration the needs of bicyclists and pedestrians,” said MTA Administrator Paul Comfort.  “Adding a bike car on every weekend MARC train will provide an added level of convenience and ease of travel for our bike-riding customers.

The bike cars allow passengers to bring full-sized, non-collapsible bikes on board the train and safely secure them in one of 23 racks on board the car.  Passenger seating for 40 is available adjacent to the bike racks (see attached picture).  There is no additional charge to use the specially-designed cars and bike racks are available on a first-come, first-served basis. 

The addition of the bicycle car to MARC Penn Line trains is one of two immediate transit improvements announced by the Governor when he unveiled the new BaltimoreLink system. On Sunday, October 25, 2015, the MTA began enhanced service for West Baltimore residents on the QuickBus 40.  The enhanced bus service increases frequency between the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid in Baltimore County and City Hall in Baltimore City.

The BaltimoreLink system will deliver a unified transit network and includes renaming existing Maryland Transit Administration modes: LocalLink (Local Bus), Light RailLink, Metro SubwayLink and MobilityLink to create an interconnected transit system. The BaltimoreLink system includes several components:  CityLink, LocalLink, Light RailLink, Metro SubwayLink, MobilityLink, Express BusLink and BicycleLink. 

A major component of the BaltimoreLink system is CityLink – 12 new high-frequency, color-coded bus routes that will improve reliability and better connect riders to Amtrak, Commuter Bus, Light RailLink, MARC Train, Metro SubwayLink and other services in Baltimore and the surrounding suburbs. In Baltimore City, new CityLink routes will run every 10 minutes during peak periods and every 15 minutes during midday.

The new CityLink buses will be specially branded and travel on color-coded routes with easy-to-read signage and detailed maps that will make the system easier to use. The CityLink bus routes, Light RailLink and Metro SubwayLink will form an interconnected, one-transfer system. On the new system, a rider will be able to get from any stop to any other stop with only one transfer. The BaltimoreLink system will debut when the new CityLink high-frequency bus service starts in summer 2017.

Complete details on the BaltimoreLink system and MARC train schedules can be found at

For the latest information on MTA service, passengers are urged to check the MTA website at Customers also can call MTA’s Transit Information Contact Center Monday through Friday from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 410-539-5000 or 410-539-3497 (TTY). Please visit MTA’s Facebook page at and follow us on Twitter @mtamaryland. MTA reminds passengers to report unattended bags and unusual behavior to police or transit personnel. If you see something, say something. Visit for more information.

Media Contacts:  
Sandy Arnette                                          Paul Shepard
Office: 410-767-8367                               Office: 410-767-3935        
Cell:    443-835-7984                               Cell: 443-622-4181

Governor's Office

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

Public Hearings and Meetings button

eNotifications button

Rider Tools

Additional tools and resources for riders.

Learn more